We recommend: John Williams

Stoner book cover

Our booksellers recommend: Stoner by John Williams

Subject: Classic fiction

Review: The story of a man’s life in the first half of the twentieth century. Simply told, but hugely powerful. Fans of Raymond Carver, John Cheever and Richard Ford will find much to enjoy here. (by CG)

Trivia: Stoner sold barely more than one copy a day until its sudden and unexpected transformation into an international bestseller a few years ago.

Click for similar reviews.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s