Tony O’Neill and Graeme Shimmin, a Bad Language collaboration

Tony O'Neill event poster

New York author TONY O’NEILL will join us on November 25th for a noir-filled night of novel reading, with a special support slot from GRAEME SHIMMIN, author of spy thriller A Kill In The Morning.

Support will come from Bad Language names DAVID HARTLEY and FAT ROLAND.

Tony is here to promote Black Neon, which Irvine Welsh calls “pitch black classic slice of neo-noir, where black magic, art house cinema, drug-fuelled madness and apocalyptic violence collide with dizzying effect.”

“I fell in love with every page,” adds Welsh.

Tony is a founding member of the Brutalists, a literary collective alongside Adelle Stripe and Ben Myers. He has played in Kenickie, in The Brian Jonestown Massacre, and with Marc Almond and Kelli Ali. Alongside novels, he has co-written memoirs and has written short stories for the likes of 3:AM Magazine. He’s even written poetry. Basically, he’s done everything.

Tony O’Neill appears courtesy of Bluemoose Books and Bad Language. This event takes place at Blackwell’s bookshop, Oxford Road, Manchester on Tuesday November 25th 2014 at 7pm. Entry is free. Join the Facebook event page here.

Science talks 2014

Manchester Science Festival logoOur popular annual talks for Manchester Science Festival are bigger than ever this year, and will take place in two venues: here at Blackwell’s and at the International Anthony Burgess Foundation.

Look out for a pigeon from the past teaching us about the decline of species, the last people you expect to ignore climate change, top mathematician Alex Bellos making numbers add up for us non-mathematicians, plenty of animal sex, the story of the biggest particle hunt of all time and a spot of stargazing with TV’s Mark Thompson.

(We recommend you book for the Alex Bellos and Mark Thompson events. Click their names to book.)

Our event schedule:

A message from Martha, the world’s last carrier pigeon
Saturday, October 25th at 17:30 in Blackwell’s (see event)

Why we ignore climate change
Monday, October 27th at 18:30 in Blackwell’s (see event)

What’s your favourite number? with Alex Bellos
Tuesday, October 28th at 18:30 at the Burgess Foundation (see event) (get tickets)

Sex on earth
Thursday, October 30th at 18:30 in Blackwell’s (see event)

Smashing Physics: inside the world’s biggest experiment
Saturday, November 1st at 14:00 in Blackwell’s (see event)

Stargazing with Mark Thompson
Saturday, November 1st at 18:30 (see event) (get tickets)

See all events here

Very Short Talks

Very Short Talks poster

On November 27th, Blackwell’s will host an evening of talks with selected authors from the brilliant, bestselling book series Very Short Introductions.

Featuring:
Oliver P Richmond talking about peace;
Jamie Woodward talking about the Ice Age;
Tim Bayne talking about thought.

Come and have your brain stretched in this entertaining (and FREE) evening packed with facts, analysis, new ideas and buckets of enthusiasm. Hosted by local compere and comic performer Fat Roland.

Venue: Blackwell’s bookshop, Oxford Road, Manchester
Date: 27th November 2014
Time: 6.30pm
Admission: free – no need to book

Brought to you by Blackwell’s and Oxford University Press.

VeryShortMcr

Mountains of Moleskines reduced

Lovely Moleskine things.

So strong is their product, Moleskine have been called the iPhone of notebooks. So we are delighted to bring you an exclusive offer on a range of Moleskine travel accessories.

Throughout the shop, you will see 20%-off displays on some Moleskine items you may not have seen before.

We have durable iPad covers (for 3 and 4), stylish laptop and messenger bags with gorgeous inner linings, including their new MyCloud range, and book lights designed to match all the colours of the rainbow, each with warm, rechargeable LEDs.

We even have colour pencil cases!

20% off RRP on quality Moleskine accessories is a deal that is only available in our bookshop, and the offer won’t last long. Pop in for details.

Click here to browse the rest of the Moleskine range.

Do you want to work with us?

We are recruitingWe need booksellers.

If you would like to work with us in September and October, here’s your chance. We need quick learners who love books and love serving customers – people that can keep a cool head when serving large numbers of students as they leave lectures.

In August, we will sift through CVs and then interview for around half a dozen temporary posts. If you want to be considered, please drop a CV into our bookshop or email it to manchester@blackwell.co.uk.

We recommend: John Williams

Stoner book cover

Our booksellers recommend: Stoner by John Williams

Subject: Classic fiction

Review: The story of a man’s life in the first half of the twentieth century. Simply told, but hugely powerful. Fans of Raymond Carver, John Cheever and Richard Ford will find much to enjoy here. (by CG)

Trivia: Stoner sold barely more than one copy a day until its sudden and unexpected transformation into an international bestseller a few years ago.

Click for similar reviews.